Desbladet
- Neither decorative nor useful
home archives guestbladet mail host

Something to say? Desbladet wants to hear about it! Please use the guestbladet for comments!

(I know, I know, but it's the way we diarylanders have done it for generations.)

2002-08-02 17:10 (UTC+1)

They're having a ball

It's a glorious summer day, and They've put up a marquee in the gardens just down from my office. There's a stench like unto that of charred cow-flesh wafting in through the window and the strains of a workmanlike funk band for a chaser. This is nothing to do with my department - we've not been invited, and we're not enjoying it very much.

I'd shut the windows, but I'd swelter in the heat. I will, soon, anyway - I'm going up to my Mum's for the weekend by train with a rucksack full of stuff.

All of which is really just an pretext to alert new readers to the fact that I don't generally blog at weekends. Don't say I didn't warn you!

2002-08-02 16:31 (UTC+1)

Les Voyelles (Hors Series): Rhino Snogging Time

Open your mouth a centimetre or two (that's wide enough to bite a knuckle in Imperial Units). Pull your tongue down and back. A long way back - either as far back as you can or until it tickles your gag reflex, whichever comes first. Leave your lips more-or-less slack. The overall effect should be much like you'd expect from a sadistic doctor with a tongue depressor, just before he tells you to say "Ahhh".

Now say "Ahhh". (My Varied Reader may be disappointed to hear that although I have my own white coat, I am unfortunately unable to make house calls.)

This noise that you are making (did I say you could stop? I think not!) is a long back vowel [A:]. In practice, back vowels in most languages are not this far back, which in practice is as much of a relief to me as it is to you. The Swedish long "a" in (e.g.) bra is not this far back, so you can afford to let your tongue come forward a bit. In my pronunciation of English the "a" in "father" is a low back vowel, but I like to use a vowel just a bit further back for Swedish.

You'll be pleased to hear that there is a whole series of back vowels in Swedish and delighted beyond reason that I'm going to describe them all, but first I have to deal with monophthongisation. In English pronunciation of vowels, especially of long vowels, the tongue tends to glide from one position to another; this produces what are called diphthongs where two vowels blend into each other. The opposite of this is monophthongisation, as is typical of French and Swedish, where the tongue stays where it's put until it's told otherwise.

This is something English speakers hate, but that's just life. Some phoneticians use the terms tense and relaxed to describe the articulation of vowels, while others object that they don't really correspond to anything that has been measured acoustically or even muscularly. They do describe what it feels like, though. Monophthongal vowels (the kind we want) are the tense ones - you need to keep your tongue tense so that it won't start drifting off and being English and stuff.

This is where the rhino comes in - when making Swedish vowels you want to brace your tongue as though you're about to snog a rhino. Tense, you see? There is, of course, no truth in the rumour that the IPA requires budding phoneticians to have their tongues callibrated against the platinum-iridium rhino kept for that purpose in a Parisian vault. I hope.

Now, back to the back vowels. With [A] as the lowest back vowel the only way left is up. Keep the tongue pulled right back and concentrate on raising the back part of the tongue. As the tongue rises progressively round the lips. This should move you through the vowel [o:], as found in "sova" and "v�t", about half way up with lips fairly rounded, and then finish with [u:] as in "ros", with the back of the tongue as close as it can get to the roof of the mouth while maintaining a pure vowel, pronounced rounding of the lips, and the tongue still pulled right back.

In practice, these are all more exaggeratedly back than the vowels used in Swedish, but practicing them this way can help to break Anglophone habits and get you used to feeling the intrinsic backness of back vowels. You can and should tune by ear for added authenticity. And don't forget the rhino!

(I'm saving the odd vowel out [u"+] as in "gul" for later, but if you really insist then you can try something between [u:] as above and [y:] as in "ny", assuming you have a good authentic close rounded front vowel - the difference between those should be just a question of moving the tongue forward and back while maintaining height and lip rounding - the vowel you want should be a little forward of what feels like half-way.)

2002-08-02 10:20 (UTC+1)

Cat and girl are very good indeed.

In a dizzying whirl
or just sat on a mat
they're a cat and a girl -
they're a girl and a cat!

[Trad., arr. Purcell.]

Bellis alerts us to Cat and Girl, which I had seen before, but not really appreciated; there's an overlay of painfully hip US indiedom (the Hipster Scouts, yet) that I'm too old now to join in with - I don't expect to see the point of the mimsy Tweecore of Belle and Sebastian even if I levar uti hundrade �r - but it's much, much better than that. Experienced readers will know that I like a bit of Situationism, and Girl and Cat are Situationists:

The mutual interference of two worlds of feeling, or the bringing together of two independent expressions, supersedes the original elements and produces a synthetic organisation of greater efficacy - d�tournement.

And they weigh in on the geek/nerd controversy even if they get it the wrong way round, by most standards of contemporary English usage.

All these savage ironies are delivered in a j�ttecool clean-line cartoony style (go check out the early ones to see a Voice Being Found) and a correspondingly detached wit.

Plus, of course, I like cats.

2002-08-01 14:03 (UTC+1)

Translation trauma

All my verbal ingenuity is currently tied-up - we've reached the writing up stage of a paper and I have to translate a colleague's English into English. Since I am not Spanish and we are not paid by the word I am making extensive use of the delete key.

Tomorrow I will have also for you scintillating delights, but today my prosodic prissiness is employed elsewhere.

2002-08-01 09:02 (UTC+1)

Belated observations on S(u)paidaaman

[ I saw Spiderman in Japan - timeliness is not a virtue for which I am noted. ]

It was in Scott McCloud's marvellous Understanding Comics that I first came across the idea that an integral part of the point of the cartooniness of cartoon characters is to allow the reader to project themself onto the hero - the more generic the drawing the more easily it could be (any of) us.

Clearly, this is also the function of Spiderman's mask, and Jonathan Lethem's LRB article uses precisely this manoeuvre to ground his reading of the film from an African-American point of view. There are no prizes for guessing that my reading of Spiderman is essentially geek wish-fulfillment, but that's the whole point - he can be whatever you want to make him.

It's not often that Hollywood gets it as right as it does here - and Spidey is one of my Official Cultural Treasures, so it this is not a small thing for me to be saying. Even the changes to the comic's continuity were for the better. For example, making the web shooters a biological mutation rather than an invention is a brilliant way to reclaim the adolescence that's at the heart of the Spiderman Origin Myth - sometimes a cigar is just a cigar, but a sudden spurt of greyish goop unpredictably activated by a flick of the wrist in the suddenly and disturbingly changed body of a boy/man is very rarely just a cigar, if you know what I'm saying.

The only flaw was, of course, the Infamous Nipple Scene, and it's again McCloud we need to invoke to understand why - by objectivising Mary-Jane as a sexual object in that scene the film suddenly jars us back into us-as-audience and breaks the identification of us-as-Spidey that is the whole point of the film.

I just hope they make a sequel. (Actually I also hope they also realise the need to appoint a suitably qualified Consultant Semiotician To Ms Dunst's Nipples, but that may be more geek wish fulfillment than you needed.)

2002-07-31 14:07

H�lsar!

Actual Swedish people are linking me! I am j�tte-thrilled!

Simon postulates that he and I are essentially, in some sense, quasi-bogomorphic. But really, I long ago stopped wanting to be a mathematician when I grew up - I now want to be a linguist when I grow up, my bass playing would make a dog laugh, and I stopped dyeing my hair when I turned 30.

I'll also mention here, since I didn't elsewhere, that the truly terrifying maths books, the ones people cite but never read, the ones that might as well be blank beyond page 17 because anyone who actually gets that far is undoubtedly so unhinged they won't even notice, are the ones called Foundations of Whatever for appropriate values of Whatever. (That means you, Dieudonn�. Not that I'm bitter.)

Incidentally, the real mathematics blog of choice is of course Brenda's Isomorphisms.org - if no one else understands your need for Chern classes, or why it's cool to think of projective two-space as a circular disc with a m�bius strip glued to each other edgewise cross-cap fashion, even if the resulting object doesn't fit inside three-space without self-intersection, then go talk to Brenda - she understands.

Also Erik says, - and this is my first plug in Swedish, so I'm quoting it verbatim in utter delight:

Desbladet - F�rfattaren verkar plugga svenska n�gonstans i England och t�cker kungligt skvaller bra, i synnerhet s�nt som g�ller Kronprinsessan Victoria.

In fact Vickans recent dominance merely reflects media trends - Desbladet remains as committed as ever to bringing you the finest in pan-Scandinavian princess prattlings. Has there, indeed, ever been a better Aftonbladet headline than Modeexpert: "Mette-Marit �r snyggare �n n�gonsin", the first such story we ever linked? Surely not, although we hold out hope for Nu �r Mette-Marit snyggare �n n�gonsin igen!. Maybe some day...

We're even willing to cover new Danish princes - we'd prefer a juicy Kronprins Fred scandal, of course, but we take what we can get.

2002-07-31 09:54 (UTC+1)

Syntax sin tax

The Welfare of Ducks bill. A golden opportunity missed - consider Section 1 subparagraph 1(i):

No duck shall be beak-trimmed, except where a vetinary surgeon certifies that beak-trimming is necessary in the interests of that duck's health.

Imagine, though, if that had been the whole of the act. We join the action in one of the commons' bars, where William Vaughn, Under-Secretary for Avian Affairs, is fuming about the invoice he's just received for associated secretarial expenses:

"So how much was the Duck Bill Bill bill, Bill?"

"Bill Bill," Bill mimicked savagely, "He won't mind. But I do mind!"

Of course, now I have to write a novel, just so that I can work this in.

2002-07-30 15:08

Demystification itself can always be turned into a myth.

[ In which I attempt to explain. Explaining the explanation is left as an exercise for the interested reader. ]

I've never actually been to Sweden (which is the cause of much hilarity in my Swedish classes) but I did go to Norway once. I liked it a lot, but it was a bit embarrassing that bus drivers spoke good English and I spoke no Norwegian at all, so when I got back I resolved to Do Something About It. Except there weren't any Norwegian classes offered locally, and there were Swedish classes, so I did that instead. Same difference, right? (*Ducks*)

Since I also have a slightly more than casual interest in linguistics and an innate bias towards formalism, I approach learning Swedish in a way that everyone else seems to think is barking mad. (Everyone else thinks tapes are better than books for learning pronounciation. Fools! We'll show them, won't we, Henry?)

One side-effect is what I hope will one day be recognised as the best guide to Swedish phonetics by a non-Swedish speaker with no formal training in phonetics ever serialised on Diaryland. (I never got my other award, but I'm not bitter.)

After I'd been studying Swedish for a year or so I started using print-outs of articles from the Swedish newspaper Aftonbladet to supplement course material. At first it would take a large chunk of an evening to read through an short article, and I quickly learned that frivolous stories about Scandinavian princesses were less upsetting than Real News to dwell on for that length of time. I kind of got hooked on the soap-operatic aspects, and I still follow the royal gossip rather more avidly than it probably merits.

2002-07-30 09:52 (UTC+1)

Geminate me, baby!

One feature of Swedish that is a novelty to native English speakers is the idea of long consonants. Happily these are as easy to learn as they are fun to use.

Consider the "d" in the English word "bad" (this is [d] in phonetic transcription, hoorah, hoorah). When this is pronounced the tongue momentarily blocks the air flow from the lungs and then releases it. (Are we all singing along at home? Good!)

We can call the whole process a "plosive" and divide it into the blocking of the air stream (the "implosive" part) and the release (the "explosive" part).

Now consider the English phrase "bad dog". In my pronounciation, at conversational speed, the "d" in "bad" is an implosive that is then held, and the "d" in "dog" is the corresponding explosive. So, even in English, we can find long consonants. (Consider also "book keeper", "hot tea", etc.) This phenomenon only occurs across word boundaries in English, but in other languages it can occur within words. Italian, for one, where consonants spelt with double letters are pronounced this way. (This is further ammunition, by the way, for one's feud with the kind of person who snobbishly tries to pronounce "latte" in the Italian manner, but fails through not actually knowing what that is. If, that is, one should be petty enough to be conducting such a feud, heaven forbid.)

More to the point, Swedish does it too. In Swedish (also Norwegish, but not Danish) there is a rule (called "syllabic equilibrium") that demands that a stressed syllable must have exactly one of either a long vowel or a long consonant. Using the colon (:) as a length marker we may notate these as V:C, and VC:. Now, in practice, if a long consonant is followed by a vowel the explosive part joins in with the latter vowel - the Swedish pronounciation of the name "Anna" is essentially "An-na" (and it's this splitting of long consonants across syllables that is called gemination, strictly speaking). In Swedish, however, the double consonant belongs, at least conceptually, to the previous syllable and it is quite normal to have double consonants at the end of a word (e.g. "tack").

Finally, we may note that Swedish is fairly consistent about spelling long consonants with double letters, except that "kk" is replaced by "ck" (which is odd, but not really a problem) and "m" is never spelled double at the end of words even when it's long (which is annoying).

2002-07-29 13:59

A 20th century boy marooned in the barren wastelands of the 21st century.

The department coffee machine is being decommissioned at the end of this month. Apparently I was the only person who used it. I can believe that - the coffee was disgusting, and required you to type a four digit number to specify what you wanted (2836, since you ask). I have access to the staff coffee-making facilities, of course, but it's not the same - if I have to drink bad instant coffee then I want a machine to make for me. It's the 21st Century, for heaven's sake!

On the other hand, the coffee jug that used to sit stewing in the staff dining room has now been replaced by a new machine. Needless to say, I also disapprove of this - this is supposed to be real coffee, and that doesn't come out of machines. The machine hasn't really worked since it's been there - either it's got a headache, or the door hasn't achieved the exacting standards of shutness that the discerning coffee machine of today demands, or something. Today it claimed to be out of beans, and when they opened it up there was indeed a (not at all empty) plastic pot of actual coffee beans. Even so, I seethe inwardly every time I press the button marked Americano when all I really want is a black coffee. Much as I love machines, pretentiousness does not become them.

Sigh. Most of all I hate it when my routine gets messed up.

2002-07-29 09:19 (UTC+1)

Aim V�-ri pliized to miit jo

Francis disapproves of my attempts to outsource my biography, which I suppose is reasonable enough - this is an attempt to add some concrete details to the previous sketch.

I am 32 years old, 180 cm tall and I weigh 60 Kg (that's "tallish and skinny" in imperial units). I have Batchelor's degrees in maths and physics, a Master's degree in applied mathematics and a PhD in engineering (fluid mechanics). I work as a computer programmer in a University maths department in the west of England.

I live in abject squalor with four guitars (including a bass) and more books than I will probably ever be able to read.

previous, next, latest

Site Meter