Desbladet
- Neither decorative nor useful
home archives guestbladet mail host

Something to say? Desbladet wants to hear about it! Please use the guestbladet for comments!

(I know, I know, but it's the way we diarylanders have done it for generations.)

2002-12-01 15:00 (UTC)

Monarchy Masterclass for Mette-Marit

I'm ashamed to admit that I've only just discovered VG's dedicated kongehuset page. It is, of course, a source of deep, deep joy. This (non-) story on Mette-Marit, for example, has everything anyone could reasonably ask for in coverage of world events: a princess (the lovely Mette-Marit); a pretext significantly short of anything you could call an "event" (she's learning the subtle arts of Queenliness from her mother-in-law); in-depth analysis (of her fashion sense and lady-like car-exiting technique, admittedly); and a prose style geared to the scholastic underachiever (I'm still aspiring to this level in Norska, of course).

And, most important of all, no mention of Henry Kissinger to make me cry and hide under my desk gibbering in rage, terror and disgust.

[Permalink]

2002-12-01 14:09 (UTC)

Rockin' Reminiscence

In pronouncing "Iron Maiden" in British English one does not pronounce the "r". I do, of course, in tribute to some Scandiwegians I once encountered in Oslo.

The last laugh is on me, though - until just nu had I not fully appreciated the extent to which the Maiden of Ironness rocked. Hell, yeah.

Tune in some time in tv�tusentiotalet to see me belatedly getting the point of Eminem...

[Permalink]

2002-11-30 13:35 (UTC)

Sometimes une baguette magique is just en trollstav

I've tried bilingual French-English books (Penguin do a bunch of short stories in this format) but they never really worked for me - the stories too often leave me cold, and the relative difficulties of the languages makes the French a non-starter.

But. I was reading the second Harry Potter in French more as a way of taking my mind off the hook than anything else, but I started to feel a bit guilty that it wasn't Swedish instead - I have the Swedish version of volume 2 as well but it would be a slog to read it just with a dictionary. Parallel reading in French and Swedish is fun, though. (I recommend put both books on the floor and lying face down on the bed/futon/sofa, BTW.) All the more so since they are not designed for the purpose, and there are tiny continuity discrepancies to boggle over: in one Mr Weasely hands over the school letters, in another it's Mrs Weasely - why? That the change is of no consequence whatever only makes it more peculiar that one of the translators felt it appropriate to deviate from his/her model.

The Swedish version is dead posh, incidentally. There doesn't seem to be a paperback, so I got the lavishly produced hardback with a running "snowstorm at night" effect in the header, a similar graphic on a full double page at chapter changeovers and a proper handwriting-style font for Hermione's letter. You might think that this would lesson the pain of it costing about four times as much as the French edition, but it doesn't. Not only am I mean, but I dislike Lavish Production Value books in the first place - all those ghastly never-read gilt-edged Shakespeare and Dickens volumes that used to be de rigeur among social climbers of my parents' generation have left me with an (irrational, of course) inverse snobbery about these things to the extent that I fetishize cheap paperbacks instead. I have (unreasonably) strong opinions about typesetting, of course, and I approve of paper that gives a crisp edge to a glyph, certainly, but these are ergonomic issues - books are for reading.

[Permalink]

2002-11-29 14:00 (UTC+1)

New Scientist: 'Nuff Said

The cover story on New Scientist this week:

CHOMSKY'S THEORY ON TRIAL
Does the language you speak control the way you think?

And it's every bit as embarrassingly bad as that implies. Sapir? Whorf? Not mentioned.

And as for

the orthodox view that language does not have a strong bearing on thought or perception. The classic example used by the Chomskians to back this up is colour.

WTF? The classic work on colour terms is Berlin and Kay. Chomsky's claims about Universal Grammar are completely irrelevant to this question. It's one thing to dispute Chomsky's ideas - I'm in that queue myself - but it's a completely different matter not even to know what they are. The alleged journalist here (one Alison Motluk) appears to have been sold a bill of goods by a bunch of publicity-seeking psychologists.

I wish I could buy Science & Vie as easily as le Nouvelle Obs (winner of the hebdo challenge) - New Scientist has become an embarrassment.

[Permalink]

2002-11-29 09:32 (UTC)

Miss Madeleine's Men

Paying no attention to the republikan behind the curtain, we note that the newly-single prinsessa Madeleine has taken delivery of a couple of strapping bodyguards, although it is less clear what they're supposed to be for.

Elisabeth Tarras-Spokesberg (hurrah!) declines to offer any opinion on whether there is a concrete threat:

Finns det en konkret hotbild mot prinsessan Madeleine?
Jag kan inte kommentera det.

See? We remind readers, without any attempt to imply a connection, that Madeleine's last appearance was in connection with a messy split with a boyfriend with an assault conviction who was denying there was a split. What's Swedish for "Leave it Darren, she's not werffit!"?

[Permalink]

2002-11-28 13:23 (UTC)

Daniel Dilemma Documented

Returning to our regularly-scheduled cultural agenda, Point de Vue provides overdue coverage of the occasion of l'h�riti�re de la couronne su�doise (viz. Vickan) encountering both ex- and current boyfriends, both by way of being named Daniel, at the wedding of a mutual friend.

�Au moins, elle est s�re de ne pas tromper de pr�nom�, they quip politely.

[Permalink]

2002-11-28 10:20 (UTC)

Translation Trickle Truculence

[kitted and kaboodled off of language hat; Permalink]

Everyone was giving the Arab world grief, after discovering that a mere 330 books were translated into Arabic per year.

Then someone answered the obvious question: about 400 books per year are translated into American (excluding technical and scientific stuff but including everything else: journalism, poetry, philosophy, whatever).

Which just goes to show, although it isn't clear what. A fair amount of the French intellectual stuff I'm reading is only translated after being cut "for space" (Bourdieu's Sketch of a theory of practice is unpreceded by Algerian ethnography in the English edition) or "cultural relevance" (Barthes Mythologies is full of topical French issues of the time) and the price is usually at least doubled in the process. You'll pay under EUR 10 for anything in poche format (and a lot of stuff is), vs. 15 quid and up for posh OUP editions, if what you want happens to be translated and in print - Penguin dropped their English versions of L�vi-Strauss because hey, who cares about that?

But anyway, I read stuff in foreign not because I'm a pretentious skinflint but because it's a defence of diversity, and a chance to sample a different cultural agenda. And because I'm a pretentious skinflint, of course.

[Permalink]

2002-11-27 14:04 (UTC)

Discovered!

I started reading Carolines blog when I saw it linked from Francis's site - I keep an eye out for blogs noted there as being p� svenska. It's good stuff, in a quite accessible style, and apparently underappreciated in Storbritannien (med Nordirland), since today she writes:

Kan inte du fr�n Bristol som brukar l�sa det h�r bara skriva en kommentar eller s� f�r det skulle vara roligt att veta vem du �r :)

(I did, of course.) This isn't the first time, either.

It's enough to make a man get all bloggteori on yo asses and be talkin 'bout site-counters and the Death of Lurking. (Almost.)

[Permalink]

2002-11-27 10:07 (UTC)

[Book Review] Claude L�vi-Strauss, by Catherine Cl�ment

Que sais-je? books are normally best thought of as extended encyclopedia entries rather than conventional textbooks, each one outlining the elements of a particular subject. This approach risks degenerating into an amorphous catalogue of observations if neither the subject nor the author imposes a structure, and this book at times comes close. Bookended between opening and closing eulogies of L�vi-Strauss, involving more personal reminiscences from the author than I would have imagined necessary (e.g., Cl�ment once obtained permission to write a libretto based on Tristes Topiques on the condition that L-S wouldn't have to listen to the music. No, I didn't need to know that either.), we get what seems to be mostly a ramble through L�vi-Strauss's books in not strictly, but not far off, chronological order.

The presentation of the Mythologies analysis of American Indian myths and the transformations which link them is set out carefully and persuasively; for me, at least, this is the clear highlight of the book. There's also a brief discussion of the comparable process linking the use of masks, and the Oedipal myth (the extended one involving Spartoi killing each other, which readers less uncouth than me are presumably familiar with) is considered as the inverse of the Grail myth (with the ritual genuflection to L-S's love of Wagner).

I could have used more effort to place L-S, and thereby structuralism, in a wider intellectual context. The author quotes L-S's disavowal of any link to Barthes, Lacan, Foucault, et al., and there's some discussion of his critique of humanism in general and Sartre in particular, and some of his admiration for Rousseau, as well as his "roots" in Marx, Freud and geology. Which sounds like a lot, now that I come to write it all out, so you'll have to take my word for it that Cl�ment does manage to spend a substantial amount of space mythologising him as a sui generis intellectual giant, which may be accurate but would certainly be a whole lot more convincing if she ever gave the impression of being familiar with any other work in anthropology.

Despite my criticisms, though, this is a serviceable overview of L�vi-Strauss's work; at least to the extent that I feel confident in using it to structure my reading of his work - I'd be a lot less comfortable with its use as a substitute, but that's to be expected.

Oh, and it's in French. Caveat emptor!, as they say in Belgium.

[Permalink]

2002-11-26 13:23 (UTC)

Mette-Marit in a Merica

Her first solo engagement in her official capacity. Fotospecial at Aftonposten. Hurrah!

[Permalink]

2002-11-26 12:33 (UTC)

Word Wizardry

I just installed a new spell-checker, being for the language of Swedish. When I recover my composure I will attempt French. I'm still ahead of my classmates on this, though - as mild-mannered Microsoft mindwashees they can choose between shelling out Big Bucks, thieving, or doing without, while I just have the fun of dealing with coaxing my beloved Emacs and aspell to do as they're told.

[Permalink]

2002-11-26 09:50 (UTC)

To do list

  • Learn German (already on next year's list, with Russian and Finnish)
  • Persuade the world that I am actually a scion of the ancient aristocratic von Bladet family
  • Somehow desensitise self to preposterous hats.
  • Acquire engagement ring
  • Offer aforesaid heretoforementioned ringy jewellry to the lovely prinsesse Whichever von Thurn und Taxis
  • Marry her and live happily ever after

Sounds simple enough, is it not? Meanwhile, some background on the illustrious prinsesse Gloria von Future Mother-in-Law und Taxis. The highlights are: 500-room palace; $1.4 billion inheritance; Europe's biggest private forest. I'm just in it for the name, of course, but it's as well to know these things.

[fotolinkage via Birgitte, hoorah]

[Permalink]

2002-11-25 15:14

A Propos Proposterous Proposals

I don't really know what this story is about, but we'll use any excuse to get the gloriously-named prinsesse Gloria von Thurn und Taxis in the bladet. She has daughters of a marriagable age, apparently, and I think it is being hinted that she thinks Kronprinsfred is a suitable candidate, which I suspect would be news to him.

I'd marry either of the twenty-something von Thurn and Taxis, sight unseen, and not (just) because the family is [b]landt de rigeste i Europa, either - I just want to be Mr (Prince? Herr? Whatever.) Des von Thurn und Taxis.

"Can I call you a taxi?"
"You, Sir, will address me as Mr (Prince? Herr? Whatever.) von Thurn und Taxis."

Every man's dream, surely?

[Permalink]

2002-11-25 11:50 (UTC)

Sm�rg�spost

Gale demythologises Sweden:

Myth #2: All Swedes are sexy.
Nope, sorry. Neither are all Swedes simmering sexpots. If you come to Sweden expecting lots of model-beautiful women to have no-strings sex with you, you're likely to leave disappointed.

Curses! Denmark it is, then. (It is true what they say about Danish women, isn't it?)

The BBC continues to cover the uselessness of British language education - this time it's the unwillingness of students to go abroad for their first job after graduating.

A survey of 5,000 students across Europe found that British students were less likely than most to speak a foreign language and were more likely to say they would not want to leave their friends to work abroad.

Yes, well. It would be pretty stupid or very arrogant to turn up in a country not speaking the language at all and expecting a graduate level job; the rest of this is but an herring of redness in my considered.

I'm officially withdrawing from NaNoWriMo after a second consecutive weekend of Doing Other Stuff. I'll type up what I have and probably make that available, and I may continue at a more leisurely pace. It has been suggested to me by one who knows that Creative Writing classes are a good way to meet wimmins develop writerly craft.

And finally, it wouldn't be Desbladet without Princess gossip - Madeleines ex-boyfriend is not convinced he's been dumped. Reassuringly, no one else seems to consider the situation ambiguous, although the quotage from unnamed sources is not untinged with overtones of axen a-grinding.

[Permalink]

2002-11-25 8:59 (UTC)

Harry Potter and the Barrel of Beer.

I went to see the Chamber of Whatsits at the weekend, having taken the precaution of getting thoroughly bladdered beforehand. It's a very long film, is it not? Surprisingly, given that, it feels rushed. The director seems to have assumed that everyone has read the book and so there's no need to motivate any of the events: Colin Creevey doesn't get space to be a pest; Ginny Weasely first turns up and is then next encountered in the chamber, without much explanation; and Dumbledore is toppled and reinstated almost immediately without any trouble being taken to develop dramatic tension.

It's a visualisation, then, rather than a dramatisation of the book, and it seems likely that the director drew up - or was given - a bunch of Key Moments that had to be included and did the bare minimum required to string them together.

The cinema was packed with people who liked it better than I did, though, and I suspect that many of them were sober, so clearly other opinions - however mistaken - are possible.

previous, next, latest

Site Meter