Desbladet
- Neither decorative nor useful
home archives guestbladet mail host

Something to say? Desbladet wants to hear about it! Please use the guestbladet for comments!

(I know, I know, but it's the way we diarylanders have done it for generations.)

2002-01-29 17:31

chaos

Chaos.

The department is having a series of graduate lectures, starting today. My boss is giving two lectures on chaos. It's a strange feeling; just about everything he said today I already knew from the last course I took on dynamical systems and chaos in 1994.

1994! I'd ask for a recount, but I just had one, and it's the truth. I'm not worried that I still remember; I've had occasion to revisit this stuff from time to time. What worries me is just how long ago that was, and how little I seem to have learned since.

I've been getting a fair bit of temporal vertigo lately. It's coming up to four years since I moved to Bristol, and it still feels like I've just got here. And I still haven't unpacked.

Maybe it's time for some changes...

previous, next, latest

Site Meter