Desbladet
- Neither decorative nor useful
home archives guestbladet mail host

Something to say? Desbladet wants to hear about it! Please use the guestbladet for comments!

(I know, I know, but it's the way we diarylanders have done it for generations.)

2002-05-23 9:38

People who won't sell me books

People who won't sell me books.

As a weak and sickly child, I soon developed a taste for reading. As a weak and sickly adult I still have it. What's worse, I have developed a taste for owning books; my attempts at shelving are little more than a doomed rear-guard action. Since I've been working full-time for nearly five years I've been able to gratify pretty much every passing book related whim. With the help of the advanced book-exchange and various flavours of Amazon the reach of my book-purchasing encircles the entire globe.

The entire globe? Well, no. There's one pesky outpost of intransigent book-deniers; the #!;@*!ing Swedes. They're just not having it - here are some of the diverse and picturesque ways the Swedish language has to tell me to go away, interspersed - for no good reason - with some pictures of unrelated things.

Bokus:

Vi levererar endast inom Sveriges gr�nser.


[ The church at Eastleach Martin. Not to be confused with Eastleach Turville, which is the same place. ]

Netbokhandeln:

Vi s�ljer endast inom Sverige.


[ John Keble, after whom my boyhood parish church was named. He once bought some herring at Eastleach Martin (or possibly Eastleach Turville). ]

Adlibris.se:

Observera att vi i dagsl�get inte levererar utomlands.
Currently we can not deliver to addresses outside Sweden.


[ Tintern Abbey. The beige smear in the bottom left is me. ]

Internetbokhandeln:

[ In the "country" field ]
Sverige (vi skickar enbart till kunder inom Sverige)


[ Tintern Abbey; the view from Devil's pulpit, where (according to tradition) Satan used to taunt and tempt the monks from. There aren't any monks, now; but then, I'm not Satan. I taunted them anyway, just to be on the safe side. ]

The situation with Wettergrens is unclear. By default the address form has "Sverige" in the "land" textbox. You could change it manually, but you'd be flying blind. Let's face it - it won't work.

There are many admirable things about Sweden, of course. But a secure grasp of the concept of international post would appear not to be one of them. Sigh!

previous, next, latest

Site Meter