Desbladet
- Neither decorative nor useful
home archives guestbladet mail host

Something to say? Desbladet wants to hear about it! Please use the guestbladet for comments!

(I know, I know, but it's the way we diarylanders have done it for generations.)

2002-05-20 10:26

People I only see at leaving do's

People I only see at leaving do's

So I was out in the charming Georgian spa town of Bath on Friday night. Just as there are cat people and dog people there are Bristol people and Bath people - I'm a Bristol person and I hardly ever go to Bath, even though it's just a few miles down the road. I find the place a bit relentless - it's all made out of the same stone and all the buildings (even the McDonalds) are in the same Georgian style. To someone who considers heterogeneity to be much of the point of a city this can quickly wear thin.

I was there for yet another leaving-do from my old work-place. I was setting out independently of the main group from Bristol, so I was glad to have been emailed a map, especially since my knowledge of Bath is pretty hazy. I was a lot less glad when I finally got around to trying to open the image and discovered it was in some weird Microsoft format I couldn't process. Sigh. So, if nothing else, Friday proved that I do in fact know Bath well enough to get to the usual Thai restaurant from the train station on foot.

I then sat in the appointed pub for an hour after the appointed time, eking out a pint and catching up on the gossip about Princess Madeleine that I'd brought along (she's very upset about all the unkind and untrue rumours about her decadent lifestyle) until everyone else turned up.

All of which meant that we bundled off to the restaurant and got seated before I could say half of the things I had to say to lots of the people I wanted to talk to.

Still, with leaving do's from that place you can be quietly confident that there'll be another one along in a minute. I'll catch up then.

previous, next, latest

Site Meter