Desbladet
- Neither decorative nor useful
home archives guestbladet mail host

Something to say? Desbladet wants to hear about it! Please use the guestbladet for comments!

(I know, I know, but it's the way we diarylanders have done it for generations.)

2002-04-17 10:26

Blonde barmaid bonanza

Blonde barmaid bonanza

Bizarrely, there appears to be a Swedish pub in Winchcombe, Gloucestershire. Given that, admittedly unlikely, precondition it wasn't really all that surprising that one of my fellow students in Swedish class had recently been there to celebrate his birthday, or that I had a print-out of the above Aftonbladet story in my bag at Swedish class last night.

At the White Hart (Den Vita Ren?) the chef and the menu and the decor are all authentically Swedish, which almost makes up for the tackiness of importing young Swedish women as barmaids on six-month tours of duty.

Much more than blonde barmaids, though, my heart yearns to hear the Aftonbladet reader in the street trying to say "Gloucestershire".

News that stays news

But much more exciting than any number of Fun Themed Restaurants, one of my class-mates brought back for me an actual Swedish tabloid newspaper! (GT, as it happens.)

It's not every day I get hold of a trashy Swedish tabloid actually in the flesh, and I mean to make the most of it - my new ambition is to read the whole thing from cover to cover - the horoscopes, the comparative table of mobile phones, the indicia; the lot.

Except for the sports section, of course. I have some standards

Envoie!

That Alex Golub, couldn't you just eat him up?

previous, next, latest

Site Meter