Desbladet
- Neither decorative nor useful
home archives guestbladet mail host

Something to say? Desbladet wants to hear about it! Please use the guestbladet for comments!

(I know, I know, but it's the way we diarylanders have done it for generations.)

2002-04-18 11:21

I will not buy this weblog, it is scratched

I will not buy this weblog, it is scratched

The verbiciser now works on Internet Explorer (or at least the version thereof that I could find). No two implementations of JavaScript appear to define the same language; we at Desbladet applaud the pluralist ideals of browser designers, and thank them for making our lives so interesting and rewarding.

If you're going abroad (I am, I am!) you might need a phrasebook; Desbladet can wholeheartedly recommend this handy page with such useful phrases as:

  • You're very pretty for a foreigner.
  • Vous �tes tr�s jolie [joli], pour une �trang�re [un �tranger].
or
  • I must compliment you on your understanding of our language.
  • Tu n'entends donc rien, esp�ce de con ?
and my personal favourite,
  • One order of ferm� le mercredi, please.
  • Donnez-moi du ferm� le mercredi, s'il vous pla�t.
It's funnier if you know at least one of French, Spanish or German (I've extracted the French 'cos I get those ones).
[indirectly from feral living]

Less usefully the BBC has used the high profile of Sven Goran [sic] Eriksson, the Swedish manager of the England football team, as an excuse for an light-hearted article on the various regional dialects of English he has to deal with. They translate such phrases as "Hows it gannin like?" into Standard English and also, hilariously, into Swedish. Of course the Swedish versions don't have any of the accents on, but they're purely �rn�ment�l anyway, right?

And since we're in Language Round-Up Mode (it's almost like a proper blog today, isn't it?) here's a long and intelligent article on the implications of Global English, which is an intriguing and highly recommended novelty.
[via Linguistic Hegemony.]

And just for you, Sir or Madam, I'll throw in this well-meaning but confused article on a secret writing system used by Chinese women, who didn't get to share in the official (male) system of education and literacy. I'm robbing myself, Sir or Madam, I really am.
[via contraversion]

previous, next, latest

Site Meter