Desbladet
- Neither decorative nor useful
home archives guestbladet mail host

Something to say? Desbladet wants to hear about it! Please use the guestbladet for comments!

(I know, I know, but it's the way we diarylanders have done it for generations.)

2002-02-08 4:06 p.m.

I like my work, but

I like my work, but...

Sometimes the mechanics of inter-disciplinary collaboration between a group of people in at least three timezones on two continents with three different native languages can be a little exhausting.

Yesterday morning I came in to find nineteen email messages, where other people had been debating stuff while I was elsewhere, asleep. And at any one time there are various different agendas being pursued. None of this is "political" in a bad way, but people from different disciplines don't always think the same way. Which is part of the point, of course.

I had been in the middle of an unscheduled rewrite of the code that has been accreting for the almost-a-whole-year that I've been working here. And now I'm not, because there's other stuff to be done.

previous, next, latest

Site Meter