Desbladet
- Neither decorative nor useful
home archives guestbladet mail host

Something to say? Desbladet wants to hear about it! Please use the guestbladet for comments!

(I know, I know, but it's the way we diarylanders have done it for generations.)

2002-05-07 10:10

It's Mayday when we say so and not before

It's Mayday when we say so and not before

Yesterday was May Day in Britain, in case you were wondering where I was. In this country our holidays are restrained and self-disciplined and more than happy to wait for a convenient Monday so as to make a long weekend to give people with caravans plenty of time to sit in traffic jams on the way to and from Cornwall.

Over the weekend I was in Cheltenham doing stuff: I have walked much in the Cotswolds and visited 14th century churches in twee little villages with names like Painswick and Eastleach Turville and been to concerts featuring the work of the justly neglected English composer Bridge and an equally unnecessary post-bop reworking of Sting's "Walking on the Moon". Also I watched Enigma which was ludicrous.

Then I got home yesterday and remembered that I still had Swedish homework to do. Take heart, O my children; if you live your lives right you too could be doing homework into your thirties.

previous, next, latest

Site Meter