Desbladet
- Neither decorative nor useful
home archives guestbladet mail host

Something to say? Desbladet wants to hear about it! Please use the guestbladet for comments!

(I know, I know, but it's the way we diarylanders have done it for generations.)

2002-03-22 9:50

Radio Revival

Radio Revival

Remember when I was moaning about the difficulty of obtaining cultural goods from one country while located in another country? Well, TV remains a non-starter and books are hard work, but it looks like radio is another matter altogether.

My little sister lives out in Japan and she listens to BBC Radio 4 all the time over the net. And since I've been poking around Sveriges Radio's site it turns out that much of their content is archived for the convenience of the net-based listener.

I guess that radio is perceived to have no resale value - it's hardly going to be dubbed or subtitled for foreign markets - and both SR and the BBC are state-run entities with a mission broader than the pure pursuit of profit.

So just for once - and for a limited time only - we at the market-focussed think-tank that is Desbladet salute the noble broadcasters of the public sector.

I'm still waiting for print-on-demand publishing, though, if anyone's looking for a business model. Pretty please?

previous, next, latest

Site Meter