Desbladet
- Neither decorative nor useful
home archives guestbladet mail host

Something to say? Desbladet wants to hear about it! Please use the guestbladet for comments!

(I know, I know, but it's the way we diarylanders have done it for generations.)

2002-03-14 10:40

Sleepy sports

Sporting events, while you sleep

The England cricket team is playing in (and against) New Zealand, right now. Well, not right now, of course - they mostly play while I'm asleep.

It's a nice way to finish the day; cocoa and pyjamas and Test Match Special on long wave. Yesterday the start was delayed by rain. It doesn't really matter; even when they're playing the gaps between events dwarf the events themselves, so eliminating the events altogether doesn't really effect the rhythm of the commentary all that much. Besides, in a game that lasts five days, what's the odd half hour between friends?

I like to stay up till lunchtime (theirs, obviously) to see how things go. But last night, at least, it seems most of the action was in the afternoon. Hoggard seems to be blossoming into an out-swing bowler worthy to succeed Trueman. Truman retired before I was born, I think. It's not a game for the impatient, cricket.

One of the few things I miss about unemployment is the opportunity to watch a whole cricket match from start to finish. Hours (days, even!) of fun.

Soon, with endearingly absurd optimism (it's very much a summer game, and it very much will not be summer), the cricket season will start in England. And the County ground is within walking distance of my flat. And it sells beer. Yes, I'm looking forward to summer.

previous, next, latest

Site Meter